Local Foundation Establishes Summer Scholars Program

Fifty Morgan City residents have the opportunity to take a three-credit college course free of charge, courtesy of the Hugh and Byrnes Young Foundation’s Summer Scholars program. 

Four general education courses will be available at the Young Memorial Campus beginning June 6. These courses can be applied towards an associate degree and can also be transferred to a four-year university. 

“Our goal is to do real and permanent good in and for Morgan City.  What better way could we do this than to promote the education of our citizens,” said Brenda Ayo, H&B Young Foundation president.

This program is made possible through a partnership with South Louisiana Community College. This is the first offering of general education courses at the Young Memorial Campus. Last month, the Louisiana Community and Technical College System announced the realignment of the Young Memorial Campus to SLCC. 

 “This opportunity is another investment by the H&B Young Foundation in the advancement of Morgan City’s future. Residents will get a jump start on an associate or ultimately a bachelor’s degree right in their community and that’s game-changing,” said Dr. Natalie Harder, SLCC Chancellor. “We are appreciative that SLCC can be a part of the H&B Young Foundation’s focus on investing in this community.”

To qualify for the Summer Scholars program, individuals must be residents of Morgan City and have never taken a course through SLCC. Courses and start dates include:

  • English 1010 Rhetoric and Composition – June 6
  • Math 1105 College Algebra – June 6
  • Biology 1000 Intro to Biology – June 6
  • Psychology 2010 Intro to Psychology – July 5.

All courses are eight weeks, with the exception of Intro to Psychology which is a four-week course. 

In addition to the Summer Scholars Program, enrollment in each of these courses is open to the public. To enroll, call (337) 521-9000 and reference the Summer Scholars Program at the Young Memorial Campus. Current Young Memorial students interested in enrolling in these courses can call (985) 380-2957 or visit Student Services on campus.  






South Louisiana Community College is a comprehensive community college that operates campuses in Abbeville, Crowley, Franklin, Lafayette, New Iberia, Opelousas, St. Martinville, and Ville Platte. The college serves more than 13,000 students annually and offers an array of academic programs. Students earn associate degrees, technical diplomas, certificates, and industry-based certifications. It is ranked 14th among the Top 100 Associate Degree Producers as determined by Community College Week.